Responsive knapp

Once Upon a Time ...

NŌUA presented th online educational program Once upon a time ... by Mathieu Asselin and Sergio Valenzuela Escobedo in the summer of 2020. 

See all recorded talks here.

Throughout the activities of the educational program a series of events was held online for artists, photographers, students, curators, designers and other interested parties discussing the issues within documentary photography today. The talks were compiled by Mathieu Asselin and Sergio Valenzuela Escobedo in collaboration with Marianne Bjørnmyr and Dan Mariner was held beteween May 25th to August 14th 2020.

The educational program also consistsed of a two month workshop for 14 selected artists after an open call. 

The online program consists of six artist talks, seven photobook designers presentations and two lectures. The guest speakers for this online program on protest and engagement are photographers, designers and curators that somehow are developing works related to long term projects that proposes to rethink the nature and objectives of documentary photography to make it more responsive to the challenges of today’s society. Stanley Wolukau-Wanambwa, Laia Abril, Anthony Luvera, Max Pinckers and Newsha Tavakolian have been sharing their work, their process and their vision with Sunil Shah in real time ‘live’ discussions. Adam Bromberg and Anna Kaisa Rastemberg gave presentations gav teoretiske forelesninger i det større bildet. Roger Williams, Ramon Peza, Eleana Schlenker, Ricardo Báez, Nina Bačun & Roberta Bratović, Hans Gremmen and Lewis Bush met the online audiences and shared their InDesign files and discussed their choices and inspirations in photobook making. 

The main idea of the program was to bring together a community of photographers, critics, writers, etc. to discuss and exchange information, ideas and experiences that highlight the current challenges, prospects and frontiers in contemporary documentary photography.

The online public program is supported by the Arts Council Norway and The Fritt Ord Foundation.